KTM’s Mike Brown Wins AMA EnduroCross Season Opener

Factory FMF/KTM rider Mike Brown topped the podium for the first time in the opening round of the AMA EnduroCross Series in the Orleans Arena, Las Vegas. Red Bull KTM Factory rider and reigning AMA EnduroCross Champion, Taddy Blazusiak finished second overall.

Brown put in a near faultless ride and made the technical track look easy as he worked toward his win.

The AMA EnduroCross Series added a new element to its night show line-up for the 2013 season where the twelve riders that qualify for the main event ride in hot laps with the fastest person getting first gate pick. Brown again took the honor of holding the top spot after turning a 40.1. Blazusiak earned the second choice spot with a time of 40.2.

The two riders choose the two inside gates for the start of the main event. Just as predicted, they rounded the first corner in that order with Brown taking the holeshot and Blazusiak in second. They locked into those positions throughout the 12-lap main event. Colton Haaker rounded off the podium.

Mike Brown: “It feels so great to get my first win tonight. I’ve been training hard and working toward this goal for a few years now and everything finally feels right. I am extremely grateful to my team that has been behind me this season and built me a great bike. I hope to carry my momentum into the next round and work toward a championship,” stated Brown.

Blazusiak was also happy with his performance, “I struggled a little bit with bike set-up this morning but everything was improved for the main event. I am happy to start the season off on the podium but I definitely have a goal of being on the top step and will shoot for that at the next round.”

Women’s event safe in KTM hands

The women’s event was also safe in KTM hands with Shelby Turner and Chantelle Bykerk taking the two top spots. FMeanwhile actory FMF/KTM rider and reigning Women’s EnduroCross Champion, Maria Forsberg, had a spell of bad luck in her main event. She grabbed the holeshot in the main but made a mistake approaching a large log section which sent her back to second place. A corner later she was taken out by another rider and because of the position of her fall, had to wait for all riders to pass by before she could get back on her bike. She restarted in last position and in the short three-lap race was able to climb back to fourth place just barely missing out on a podium finish.

This season the women will compete in all seven rounds of the EnduroCross Championships

Next Event: Sacramento, CA – June 8, 2013

Overall Results Pro Class –

1. Mike Brown – KTM

2. Taddy Blazusiak – KTM

3. Colton Haaker

4. Cody Webb

5. Geoff Aaron – KTM

Overall Results Women’s Class –

1. Shelby Turner – KTM

2. Chantelle Bykerk – KTM

3. Rachel Gutish

4. Maria Forsberg – KTM

5. Sarah Whitmore – KTM